Opinion Podcast Recorder & Editor iOS App

www.opinionpodcasting.com

I love this app, mentioned a few weeks ago, and recently used it in my latest podcast. I needed to record three Learning Technologists at three different locations across two days and did not want to carry around with me a lot of equipment. There is a great article outlying its use here 

Opinion came in really handy, allowing me to record on-the-fly, edit fast and save off for my next interview. Admittedly I did my bigger editing on my desktop but I certainly will  not hesitate to use Opinion again on-the-go. What did come up on my wish list for Opinion was:

  1. I found it a bit awkward to have the mic facing my interviewee and also be able to control the app, thankfully the latest update on the 8th March 2015 allows you to rotate the app 180°, allowing you to record a third party with the mic aimed at them but giving you full control still.
  2. Save and retrieve recordings (including splits?), the work around for this currently is to save to cloud services such as Dropbox or Box and retrieve but these are as whole recordings, meaning you lose any splits
  3. Although targeted at the podcasting market there is no way to layer audio clips. Something that the reasonably proficient podcaster would have for their intro, outro and bumper audio clips or even bed music
  4. And there is also no volume or fade in/out facility, although if you could layer the audio clips you could always have permanent fade in and out built into the intro, outro and bumper clips (I adjust these based upon the rest of my content normally)

Give me point 3 and I would happily give it a go of editing an entire episode on the app.

 

Andy

Leave a Reply

